Neil, Dymott, Frank, McCabe & Hudson APLC - Established February 1, 1964

Since its founding in 1964, Neil, Dymott, Frank, McCabe & Hudson APLC has enjoyed a long, rich history. While the name of the firm has changed over the years, the predominant reason is because many of the firm’s senior attorneys have been appointed to Federal and Superior Court Judgeships. Our philosophy, principles and high ethical standards have remained constant throughout the years and our proud history is indicative of the integrity, leadership and legal reputation of the firm’s past and present attorneys.

In early 1964, John S. Rhoades approached two other prominent San Diego attorneys – the celebrated John T. Holt and William Macomber – who he knew and respected, with the idea of forming their own law firm. While the three men had different backgrounds and personalities, they shared the same high ethical standards and passion for practicing law and reasoned that it would be in the best interests of their clients and themselves if they formed their own firm. On February 1, 1964, the law firm of Holt, Macomber & Rhoades was established.

In 1969, William Macomber was appointed a San Diego Superior Court Judge in Vista, California, where he served until he passed away. With the departure of Judge Macomber, the firm became Holt, Rhoades, Hollywood & Miller.

During 1971, Edward Miller became District Attorney, County of San Diego, and the firm was renamed Holt, Rhoades & Hollywood. In 1979, John T. Holt left the firm to concentrate on his family law practice and the firm became Rhoades & Hollywood. In 1985, John S. Rhoades was appointed a Federal Judge and the firm’s name was changed to Hollywood & Neil. In 1989, Harrison R. Hollywood was appointed a San Diego Superior Court Judge and the firm became Neil, Dymott, Perkins, Brown & Frank.

In April 2005, David G. Brown, who had been an attorney with the firm for over 24 years, was appointed a San Diego Superior Court Judge, and the firm was renamed Neil, Dymott, Frank, Harrison & McFall.

During February 2007, Sheila S. Trexler, a senior trial lawyer, shareholder and a director of our corporation, became a named shareholder and the firm was renamed Neil, Dymott, Frank, McFall & Trexler.

In February 2015, Hugh A. McCabe and Clark R. Hudson, both senior trial lawyers were added to the firm name and we became Neil, Dymott, Frank, McFall, Trexler, McCabe & Hudson.

In May 2018, Jim McFall left the firm and Sheila Trexler retired after a very successful and distinguished career. Thus, we became Neil, Dymott, Frank, McCabe, & Hudson.

Our beloved partner, Thomas M. Dymott, passed away in August 2002, after a long battle with diabetes. After earning a commission in April 1968, he served as an officer in the United States Navy. He then attended the University of San Diego, School of Law, and upon graduation, joined the firm in 1974. Tom Dymott exhibited the highest level of integrity and he exhibited a passion for his profession. He enjoyed being a mentor to younger attorneys. By his personal example, he earned the best possible reputation and served as an example for others to emulate. His leadership and his personal and professional contributions to all who knew him continue to be recognized and his name has been retained as part of our law firm name.